Local Associations

Members of Wabash Valley MTA at the 2016 State Conference Banquet


IMTA Local Associations embody MTNA/IMTA membership at the most personal level. Getting connected to a local connects you to other professionals in your area, a powerful network of teaching professionals committed to the vision and values of MTNA.

Many engaged in a local association love the camaraderie of connecting face to face with other teachers whether through monthly meetings and programs, Christmas dinner parties, collaborative student recitals, meeting up at the state conference, or a simple lunch during the week.

Benefits include

  • Performance opportunities
  • Festivals and contests that motivate students to continue study
  • Professional development for teachers
  • Annual local association grants
  • Support for certification
  • Opportunities to make friends with common interests


Local Association Map, Websites, and Dues

Indiana has 12 Local Associations – 8 Active and 4 Inactive. The numbers below correspond to the Local Association Map. If you are interested in starting a local in your area or re-instating an inactive local, please contact Ellen Bulow, VP of Local Associations.

Dues for Local Associations can either be paid when joining/renewing your MTNA/IMTA membership or they can be paid directly to the local. However, teachers must be a member of MTNA and IMTA in order to participate in a Local Association. Dues are set by each individual Local Association.

1 – Northwest Indiana MTA (Inactive)


local association map_compressed2 – South Bend Area MTNA ($10)

Website – sbamta.org

Facebook – South Bend Area Music Teachers Association

President – Kelly Havens


Celebrating 70 years as a local!


3 – Goshen-Elkhart MTA (Inactive)

Website – gemta.net


4 – Tippecanoe MTA ($15)

Website – tippmta.org

Facebook – Tippecanoe Music Teachers Association

President – Cindy Gribble

5 – Northeast Indiana MTNA ($10)

Website – nimta.weebly.com

President  –  Amy Hansel

6 – North Central Indiana MTNA ($10)

North Central Indiana MTA  –  Nancy Spahr


7 – Muncie-Anderson MTA (Inactive)


8 – Wabash Valley MTNA ($10)

Wabash Valley MTA  –  Margaret Roby

Members of Wabash Valley MTNA at the Annual Christmas Dinner

9 – Greater Indianapolis MTA ($10)

President  –  Sally Eppert


10 – MTA of South Central Indiana ($15)

President –  Nancy Crump


11 – Southeast Indiana MTA (Inactive)


12 – Greater Evansville MTA ($5)

Website – gemtaonline.webs.com

President  –  Melissa Bethel