2016 Opus Competition Festival Winners

I am very pleased to announce that the 2016 Opus Competition Festival results are in and students did a fantastic job! This year, we received 23 works for all 4 categories and many high-quality compositions made the festival very competitive. Congratulations to all the students who submitted entries! We were very fortunate to have nationally known teacher and composer, David Schneider as our judge this year. He told me that he was very impressed and extremely pleased with the compositions and stated that all of the students should be very proud of their works! I am sure teachers and students alike will be encouraged by his amazingly insightful comments.

The winners in each category are:

Elementary: Charlie Conner, student of Jean Ho
Junior: Timothy Duke, student of Nancy Spahr
Senior: Abigail Moh, student of Donald Campfield
Young Artist: Ian Callen, student of Caroline Ahn
The winners in each category have the opportunity to perform their composition at the IMTA State Conference in the fall of 2016 at Goshen University.
Winners of each category will receive their entry fee paid in full by IMTA into the state round of the MTNA Composition Competition in September 2016. Please note that IMTA will not pay any applicable non-teacher fees for entry into the MTNA Composition Competition.
A special thank you to teachers for continuing your students to compose, it has been a pleasure serving as the new chair for the Opus Festival this year and I look forward to chairing this event in upcoming years.
Caroline Ahn
Opus Composition Festival Chair, 2016

Posted in Opus Composition Festival.