Board of Directors

The 2017-2019 Board of Directors at the 2019 IMTA State Conference at the University of Indianapolis.


2019-2021 IMTA Board of Directors


President  – DJ Smith (2019-2021)
President-Elect  – Ellen Bulow (2019-2021; will assume Presidency following the 2021 State Conference)
Immediate Past President  –  Amy Chaplin (2019-2021)
Executive Secretary-Treasurer   –  Maria Mann
Recording Secretary  –  Christina Whitlock (finishing 2018-2020 term for Paula Laskowski)
First Vice President, Membership  –  Valerie Merrill (2019-2021)
Second Vice President, Local Associations  –  Paula Laskowski (2019-2021)

Local Association Presidents

Greater Evansville MTA  –  Melissa Bethel
Greater Indianapolis MTA  –  Erica Ogden
MTA of South Central IN  –  Nancy Crump
North Central Indiana MTA  –  Nancy Spahr
Northeast Indiana MTA  –  Sara Davis
South Bend Area MTA  –  Kelly Havens
Tippecanoe MTA – Cindy Gribble
Wabash Valley MTA  –  Dilya Meehan

Collegiate Chapter Presidents

Ball State University  – Ruth Oh
Butler University  – Douglas Perez
Indiana State University  –  Jon Treadway and Laural Mann (co-Presidents)

*Collegiate Chapter Presidents are non-voting members on the Board of Directors. 

State Chairpersons

Advertising – Erica Ogden
AIM Coordinator  –  Jody Thomas
AIM Development  –  Patricia Collins-Jones
Arts Awareness and Advocacy  –  Karen Thickstun
Certification  –  Nancy Spahr
Collaborative Performance –  Sally Eppert
College Faculty Forum  –  Claudia Bossard
Collegiate Chapters  –  Lori Rhoden
Conference Liaison  –  DJ Smith
Hoosier Auditions Coordinator  –  Daniel Lin
Independent Music Teachers Forum  –  Christina Whitlock 
MTNA Competitions  – Jim Helton
MTNA Composer Commissioning  –  Caroline KyungA Ahn
MTNA Foundation and Development  –  Janet Palmberg
Opus  Composition Festival  – John Liberatore

Member at Large

Member at Large – Margy Roby


(Chair) Becky Baker
Christina Whitlock
Amy Chaplin

*Only the chair of the Trustees serves on the Board of Directors. He/she is a non-voting member.