2015 MTNA Composition Competition

Congratulations to the winners of the MTNA Composition Competition at the East Central Division level. Our three winners in the State (IN) Composition Competition received either honorable mentions or won. Bravo!
Elementary: Honorable mention Ellie Overbeck, Student of Melissa Willis, IN
Junior: Honorable mention Abigail Mohs, Student of Donald Campfield, IN
Senior: Winner Julie Puckett, Student of Nien-hwa Chen, IN

2015 Opus Composition Festival

IMTA is pleased to announce the 2015 Opus Composition Festival!
The Opus Composition Festival is a competitive event designed to encourage students to create and write music. The Opus Composition Festival promotes creativity and educates students in the art and craft of musical composition.
All students who enter receive a special certificate of participation, a ribbon, and a judge’s comment sheet.
New this year: Computer-generated scores and MIDI files will be required.
Postmarked Entry Deadline: Saturday, March 7, 2015.
Please refer to the IMTA website for this years guidelines and entry form.

2014 Opus Winners

2014 Opus Winners

Elementary Category – Ellie Overbeck, student of Melissa Willis
Junior Category – Ellie Svec, student of Becky Baker
Senior Category – Nathaniel Stout, student of Evelyn Stichter
Young Artist Category – no entries

2013 Opus Winners

Elementary Category – Elisa Simoni
Junior Category – Joshua Catanzaro
Senior Category – Nathaniel Strout
Young Artist Category – No  entries

2012 Opus Composition Contest Winners Announced

LeAnna Wilson, chair of the Opus Composition Contest announces the following winners for the 2012 competition:
Elementary Category – Elisa Simoni, student of Irina Albig
Junior Category – Roxanna Albig, student of Irina Albig
Senior Category – Martin Meyer, student of Patricia White
Young Artist Category – Ezra Donner, student of Don Freund
The winners in each category will be invited to perform his/her compositions at the 2012 IMTA State Conference, to be held September 21 and 22 on the campus of Indiana State University.

2012 Opus Composition Festival Announced!

Indiana Music Teachers Association announces the 2012 Opus Composition Festival. This festival encourages students to create and write music. Each entrant will receive a certificate, ribbon, and judge’s comment sheet. Blue Ribbon Winners will receive the opportunity to perform his/her composition at the 2012 IMTA State Conference schedule for September 12-22, 2012 at Indiana State University. The First Place winner in each category will be invited to compete in the state round of the MTNA Composition Competition and receive their entrance fee reimbursed by IMTA. For more information and complete rules, please see the IMTA website.

2011 Opus Composition Blue Ribbon Winners

2011 Opus Composition Blue Ribbon Winners!
This year’s Opus Composition Festival was a tremendous success with 66 entrants and many blue and red ribbon winners.  The top composition in each age category will have the honor of his/her entry fee paid in full by IMTA to enter the state level of the MTNA Composition Competition this fall.
Our winners were:
Elementary – Elizabeth Jinks, Teacher – Anne Misner
Junior – Josh Catanzaro, Teacher – Nancy Spahr
Senior – Yihan Chen, Teacher – Don Freund
Young Artist – Kenji Kuriyama, Teacher – Don Freund
ALL students who earned blue ribbons in this year’s festival have the opportunity to perform their composition at this year’s state conference!  The IMTA Conference will be held October 21-22nd at Indiana University in Bloomington, IN.  The Opus Composition/Hoosier Auditions Recital will take place on Saturday, October 22nd.
Thank you to all the teachers who entered students in this year’s festival:
Becky Baker, John Craton, Nancy Crump, Don Freund, Cynthia Hawkins, Anne Misner, Nien-Hwa Chen, and Nancy Spahr
Thank you to all of our participants this year and a big thank you to our teachers who CREATE music with their students every day!