Two Indiana Students, Winners in East Central Division Performance Competitions

Music Teachers National Association is pleased to announce the results of the Performance Competition for the East Central Division (ECD).
Included in those results, Indiana is proud to announce we have two winners, two alternates, and two honorable mentions from our state.

  • Junior String, Abigail Ko, Violin, student of Mimi Zweig
  • Young Artist String, Clara Scholtes, Violin, student of Mauricio Fuks


  • Chamber Music (Wind), Empyrean Saxophone Quartet, students of Otis Murphy
  • Senior String, Lydia Rhea, Cello, student of Hans Jensen

Honorable Mentions:

  • Senior Woodwind, Benton Westbrook, Saxophone, student of Otis Murphy
  • Young Artist Woodwind, Ting Hua Liang, Saxophone, student of Otis Murphy

The winners now advance to the national competition which will be held at the MTNA National Conference in Orlando, Florida in March 2018. Alternates will be the representatives should the winners in their category be unable to compete.

Good luck to both Abigail Ko and Clara Scholtes as they compete in March!

Here is the full slate of results for the ECD Performance Competitions:

Chamber Music Wind

WINNER Zenith Saxophone Quartet (MI) John Nichol
Parker Fritz, Soprano Saxophone
Diego Kieliszewski, Alto Saxophone
Ben McDonald, Tenor Saxophone
Taylor Huitema, Baritone Saxophone

ALTERNATE Empyrean Saxophone Quartet (IN) Otis Murphy
Derek Granger, Soprano Saxophone
Kevin Vorabout, Tenor Saxophone
Paul Cotton, Alto Saxophone
Wesley Taylor, Baritone Saxophone

HONORABLE MENTION Anabru Quartet (IL) Debra Richtmeyer
Evan Clark, soprano saxophone
Michael Chapa, alto saxophone
Wilson Poffenberger, tenor saxophone
Gabriel Piqué, baritone saxophone

Junior Performance Piano

WINNER Kasey Shao (OH), Ran Dank
ALTERNATE Lucy Cao (IL), Sylvia Wang

Junior Performance String

WINNER Abigail Ko (IN) Violin, Mimi Zweig
ALTERNATE Linda Wang (IL) Violin, Hye-Sun Lee
HONORABLE MENTION Cecilia Martin (OH) Violin, Tatiana Hanna

Junior Performance Woodwind

REPRESENTATIVE Adelle Ngo (OH) Clarinet, Wallis Vore

Senior Performance Brass

REPRESENTATIVE Brendan Flanagan (OH) Tuba, Chris Olka

Senior Performance Piano

WINNER Derek Chung (IL), Sueanne Metz
ALTERNATE Isabelle Lian (MI), Arthur Greene

Senior Performance String

WINNER Jack Boettcher (IL) Cello, Hans Jensen
ALTERNATE Lydia Rhea (IN) Cello, Hans Jensen
HONORABLE MENTION Miriam Koby (OH) Violin, Hristo Popov
HONORABLE MENTION Cameron Gouin (MI) Violin, Gregory Maytan

Senior Performance Voice

WINNER Madeleine Keane (WI) Voice-Soprano, Diane Lane
ALTERNATE John Cao (IL) Voice-Tenor, Sylvia Wang
HONORABLE MENTION Alena Cook (MI) Voice-Mezzo-soprano, Joshua May

Senior Performance Woodwind

WINNER Salvador Flores (MI) Saxophone, Timothy McAllister
ALTERNATE Aaron Pulvermacher (WI) Saxophone, Allen Cordingley
HONORABLE MENTION Benton Westbrook (IN) Saxophone, Otis Murphy

Senior Piano Duet

WINNER: Colin Song and Lauren Kim (IL), Claire Neiweem
ALTERNATE: Sihan Wang and Wenyu Deng (OH), Piano Tianshu Wang

Young Artist Performance Brass

WINNER Preston Light (OH) Tuba, Timothy Northcut
ALTERNATE Ian Lester (MI) Euphonium, Kenneth Kroesche

Young Artist Performance Piano

WINNER Derek Hartman (IL), James Giles
ALTERNATE Xiting Yang (MI), Logan Skelton

Young Artist Performance String

WINNER Clara Scholtes (IN) Violin, Mauricio Fuks
ALTERNATE Skyler Covert (OH) Violin, Joan Kwuon

Young Artist Performance Voice

REPRESENTATIVE Abby Orr (OH) Voice-Soprano, Heather Orr

Young Artist Performance Woodwind

WINNER Julian Velasco (MI) Saxophone, Joseph Lulloff
ALTERNATE Gabriel Pique (IL) Saxophone, Debra Richtmeyer
HONORABLE MENTION Ting Hua Liang (IN) Saxophone, Otis Murphy

Posted in MTNA Performance Competitions.