2016 ECD Composition Competition Winners Named

Music Teachers National Association is pleased to announce the results of the composition competition for East Central Division.
Indiana MTA would like to thoroughly congratulate one of our students who received an honorable mention! Da Som (Emily) Yoo, student of Michael Schelle awarded an honorable mention in the Young Artist division!
Winner: Aaron Wang, Student of Catherine Rollin, MI
Honorable mention: Joshua Wolford, Student of Matthew Hagle, IL
Winner: Greta Thoresen, Student of Drea Wagner, WI
Honorable mention: Lucas Huang, Student of Bradley Sowash, OHContinue reading

2016 Results MTNA Composition Competitions – State Round

Congratulations to these winners/representatives of the State round of the MTNA Composition Competition. We are proud to have each piece representing our fine state in the Eastern Division Composition Competition!


Winner: Kayla Xu, Student of Aleksey Madan
Honorable mention: Charlie Conner, Student of Lai Ping Ho


Representative: Abigail Mohs, Student of Donald Campfield

Young Artist:

Representative: Da Som (Emily) Yoo, Student of Michael Schelle

Indiana Student Winner of MTNA National Composition Competition

IMTA is thrilled to announce  and offer congratulations to Julie Puckett, student of IMTA member Nien-hwa Chen, winner of the Senior MTNA National Composition Competition. Miss Puckett will be awarded $2,000 made possible by the MTNA Foundation Fund and will have her winning composition performed at the MTNA National Conference March 21–25, 2015, in Las Vegas, Nevada.
We commend your hard work and encourage teachers to offer this wonderful opportunity to your students. More information on Composition Competitions can be found at www.indmta.org including information on the upcoming IMTA Opus Composition Festival.

2015 MTNA Composition Competition

Congratulations to the winners of the MTNA Composition Competition at the East Central Division level. Our three winners in the State (IN) Composition Competition received either honorable mentions or won. Bravo!
Elementary: Honorable mention Ellie Overbeck, Student of Melissa Willis, IN
Junior: Honorable mention Abigail Mohs, Student of Donald Campfield, IN
Senior: Winner Julie Puckett, Student of Nien-hwa Chen, IN

New MTNA Composition Competition Chair

IMTA welcomes Connie Dailey as the new MTNA Composition Competition Chair.  She is an active member of the NIMTA
chapter in Fort Wayne, IN and we are so excited that she is stepping into this role.  Thank you Connie for giving your time and talents to

MTNA Composition Competition Winner Evan Rees

Congratulations to student Evan Rees, and IMTA teacher, Don Freund!
Evan’s composition, The Summer of Wistaria for violincello and piano
was selected as the Representative for the East Central Division of
the 2010 MTNA Composition Competition.  We were privileged to hear
Evan’s piece at last year’s state conference.