Have You Ever Wondered…

Have you ever wondered any of the following?

  • What you would do if your studio was struck by a national disaster?
  • Where you could find money to pay for music lessons for yourself?
  • How you could afford to attend an MTNA national conference?
  • How your area could launch a community program aimed at bringing music lessons to those in need?

The answer is the MTNA Foundation. The Foundation funds numerous programs that help members by enriching their professional lives, help communities through musical engagement,  recognize high achievement in the profession, and help teachers afflicted by disaster to get back on their feet.

So, when you donate, know that you are contributing to many funds that work to sustain a high level of music-making in the United States. Chances are you have already benefited from the MTNA Foundation, or will in the future, be able to benefit from its funds. For more information, click the “Donate” button, and read about the many places where your money can go to help others in the profession.

For questions regarding the MTNA Foundation Fund, please contact IMTA’s Foundation Fund Chair, Janet Palmberg janet.palmberg@indstate.edu.

2020 Hoosier Auditions District Information

Important Update:


Due to several campus closures leading to an increasing number of audition cancellations across the state, all district auditions are hereby cancelled. The State Competition scheduled for May 9th is also cancelled.

We understand that these cancellations will no doubt result in disappointments and inconveniences for everyone.  However, recommendations and guidelines published by the Indiana State Department of Health strongly encourages social distancing, and avoidance of all forms of non-essential travel.  Your safety and well-being is our top priority, and we hope you will give us some grace for the difficult decision we have had to make.

I wanted to thank you for continuing to make Hoosier Auditions such an exciting and enriching musical experience year after year.  We look forward to hearing your beautiful performances next year.


Daniel Lin
Hoosier Auditions Coordinator

Registration is Now Open for the 2019 State Conference!

We are pleased to announce that registration is now OPEN for the 2019 IMTA State Conference!

Visit the conference page to register and to view all the information you need for the conference including:

  • Hotels and Parking (it has been recommended attendees book early as hotels are busy that weekend!
  • Schedule
  • Featured guest artists:
    • Drew Peterson, Concert Artist
    • Meagan Johnson, Alexander Technique
    • Benjamin Dean Taylor, Commissioned Composer

Options are available for both online and check payments.

Nominations Now Being Accepted for 2019 Teacher of the Year

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2019 Indiana MTA Teacher of the Year. This award is given annually at the State Conference and is one of IMTA’s highest honors.

This award recognizes an individual who demonstrates excellence in teaching and service to the music teaching profession and community.  Recipients are nominated by current members (individuals and/or local associations) and selected by the Teacher of the Year Chair and State President.

To see a list of all past recipients as well as details for submission, please click here.


IMTA Teacher of the Year winners at the 2018 State Conference at Sweetwater. From left to right: Lori Rhoden 2010), Margy Roby (2005), Reginald Rodgers (2004), Jim Helton (2016), Euni Rickey (2017), Marylee Morton (2018), Juliana Lockman (2014), Hamilton Tescarollo (2015), Karen Thickstun (2008), Cheryl Everett (1999)~Anonymous IMTA Member who nominated a fellow colleague


2020 Collegiate Symposium to be held at Ball State

Hoosier Auditions State Winners 2019

Hoosier Auditions and IMTA would like to congratulate the following students for their fabulous performances at the 2019 State Competition.  Thanks to all who participated!


Elementary Piano
Winner: Jessica Flowers – Student of Beverly and Sylvia Scott
Alternate: Elaine Zeng – Student of Nadya Dubikovsky

Early Elementary Piano 
Winner: Albert Lu – Student of Linda Belleville
Alternate: Andrew Lee – Student of Svetlana Soleimani

Middle Piano
Winner: Micah Young  – Student of Ada Shebanova
Alternate: Eugene Zhang – Student of Nadya Dubikovsky
Honorable Mention: Jayden Wang – Student of Linda Belleville

Junior Piano
Winner: Rachel Yuan – Student of Linda Belleville
Alternate: Cade Neely – Student of Grace Hemaida
Honorable Mention: Rachel Wu  – Student of Dr. Karen Taylor
Honorable Mention: Lily Shen – Student of Aleksey Madan

Senior Piano
Winner: Madison Weiss – Student of Dr. Phoenix Park-Kim
Alternate: Sage Hamm – Student of Dr. Robert Palmer
Honorable Mention: Christina Shi – Student of Nadya Dubikovskyi
Honorable Mention: Joe Coman – Student of Anthony Beer

Collegiate Piano
Winner: Jonathan Kroll – Student of Dr. Phoenix Park-Kim
Alternate: Allyn Beifus – Student of Dr. Hamilton Tescarollo

Early Elementary Piano Duet
Winners: Audrey Zhang & Olivia Zhou – Students of Svetlana Solemani
Alternates: Andrew Weng & Ochro Angar – Students of Lai Ping Jean Ho

Elementary Piano Duet
Winners: Joyce Chen Ni & Jamie Chen Ni – Students of Natalia Rachford
Alternates: Ethan Zhang & Gavin Ruan – Students of Aleksey Madan

Junior Piano Duet
Winners: Kyle Tong & Daniel Slipchenko – Students of Aleksey Madan

Senior Piano Duet
Winners: Anna Lin & Michelle Zheng – Students of Lai Ping Jean Ho

Junior Voice
Winner: Abigail Peltier – Student of Stephanie Deckard & Leslie Peltier

Middle Winds
Winner: Josie Peltier  – Student of Jan Applegate & Leslie Peltier

Early Elementary Strings
Winner: Hayune Jun – Student of Regan Eckstein
Alternate: Luna Rubio – Student of Dr. Rosalyn Troiano

Elementary Strings
Winner: Amyrah Tovar – Student of Dr. Rosalyn Troiano
Honorable Mention: Hajean Jun – Student of Leslie Peltier

Middle Strings
Winner: Haseung Jun – Student of Regan Eckstein
Honorable Mention: Theresa Fussner – Student of Dr. Rosalyn Troiano

Junior Strings
Winner: Niya Koh  – Student of Sara Wollan

Senior Strings
Winner: Samantha Sudhoff  – Student of Leslie Peltier