IMTA Announces 2012 Annual Conference

The 2012 Indiana Music Teachers Association Conference will be held on September 21-22 at Indiana State University in Terre Haute.  This year’s Conference Artist is Mr. Randall Faber.  Mr. Faber gave recent recitals in Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth, St. Louis, Ann Arbor, Dallas and Austin with future engagements at the Wasserman Festival, the Gilmore Festival and the Portland International Music Festival.  Dr. Faber holds three degrees from the University of Michigan and a Ph.D. from Vanderbilt University.
In addition to the Friday evening Artist Recital, Mr. Faber will present two 90-minute pedagogy sessions earlier that day.  On Saturday Mr. Faber will teach a master-class and present another pedagogy session.
Also included in the Conference will be technology sessions and the world premiere of the 2012 commissioned composition.
Our on-site Chair Janet Piechocinski has organized an amazing Conference!  Janet encourages you to reserve your hotel early as the weekend of our Conference is also Rose Hulman’s homecoming.  Also please notice three of the hotels have a cutoff date of August 20th for reservations.
Two days on a lovely collegiate campus with time to study and converse with fellow musicians is an opportunity not to be missed. For more information visit the Indiana Music Teachers Association website.

Regional Summer Camp Information

Ohio University announces its Piano Pedagogy Seminar, June 15-16, 2012 at their campus in Athens, OH.  For more information visit the university website here.
The event includes workshops, presentations and performances with Ohio University faculty and featured guest Dr. Bruce Berr.
IMTA does not the endorse summer programs noted above.

2012 Opus Composition Contest Winners Announced

LeAnna Wilson, chair of the Opus Composition Contest announces the following winners for the 2012 competition:
Elementary Category – Elisa Simoni, student of Irina Albig
Junior Category – Roxanna Albig, student of Irina Albig
Senior Category – Martin Meyer, student of Patricia White
Young Artist Category – Ezra Donner, student of Don Freund
The winners in each category will be invited to perform his/her compositions at the 2012 IMTA State Conference, to be held September 21 and 22 on the campus of Indiana State University.

GIMTA hosts Melody Bober Workshop

GIMTA collaborated with two other teacher groups in Indianapolis (Indianapolis Piano Teachers Association and Indianapolis Piano Teachers Guild) to bring in Melody Bober on Saturday, April 21st.  The plans evolved over nine months and the workshop was a huge success.  Melody presented four sessions for teachers throughout the day.  The day also consisted of three recitals of Melody’s music featuring students of participating teachers.  It was a privilege to have Melody here in Indianapolis for the day!  This is the 3rd collaborative workshop between these teacher groups in Indianapolis.

Nominate a STAR student

Indiana Music Teachers Association invites college faculty to participate in the IMTA Student Achievement Recognition (StAR) award program. (This program replaces the MTNA StAR program that was discontinued by MTNA.)
To participate in the program, faculty members nominate a deserving student, either undergraduate or graduate, who will graduate during the current academic year, and who plans to teach music performance in an independent or collegiate studio following graduation. Please inform the IMTA state collegiate chapters chair (Dr. Lori Rhoden – by email of your award recipient selection prior to June 1. Award recipients will not be recognized after June 1.

2012 Hoosier Auditions – District Results

Indiana Music Teachers Association recognizes the winners of the 2012 District Hoosier Auditions held in Valpariso, Goshen, Indianapolis, Anderson, Terre Haute, Madison, Evansville, Fort Wayne, and Lafayette.  The auditions are administered throughout the state by  volunteer auditions chairs Joseph Bognar, Lisa Showalter, Anna Briscoe, Reginald Rogers, Beverly Simms, Sarah Gierzynski, Sue McClary, Joyanne Outland, and Melanie Manges. The final round of competition will be held at Butler University, Saturday May 19. Postmark Deadline for registration and entry fees is Tuesday, May 1. Please consult the IMTA Directory or online at for application, entry fees, and repertoire requirements. Any questions can be directed to the Hoosier Auditions coordinator, D.J. Smith
District A (Valpariso)
Early Elementary Piano
Winner: Sophia Webdell, student of Valerie Webdell
Alternate: Veronica Lin, student of Carey Scheck
Honorable Mention: Mia Webdell, student of Valerie WebdellContinue reading

Indiana Wesleyan University Announces 8th Annual Piano Pedagogy Conference

Indiana Wesleyan University announces the Eighth Annual Piano Pedagogy Conference scheduled for April 13-14, 2012. The conference features Franz Mohr and Dr. Sam Holland. Mohr is former chief concert technician for Steinway & Sons, who was critically important to many of the greatest of the pianists of our time. As the close colleague of legendary musicians such as Vladimir Horowitz, Arthur Rubinstein, Glenn Gould, Rudolf Serkin and many others, Mohr attended to their Steinway instruments, making delicate adjustments that affect tone, balance, and other characteristics of sound. Born in Duren, Germany on September 27, 1927, Mohr studied music at the Musikhochschule in Cologne and the Academy of Music in Detmold, Germany. He joined Steinway & Sons in New York City in 1962 and retired in 1992. He is presently an active advisor and consultant to Steinway & Sons. Sponsored by Meridian Music Company of Carmel, Indiana
Holland is an award-winning professor and director of the Division of Music at the Southern Methodist University. He has presented hundreds of lectures and recitals throughout North America, Europe, Asia, and Australia. His articles have appeared in every major English language professional keyboard journal and he is the author of over seventy critically acclaimed method books and recordings published by Alfred Publishing Co. and the Frederick Harris Music Co. Dr. Holland is executive director of the Frances Clark Center for Keyboard Pedagogy.
For more details go to:
Or contact Dr. Euni Rickey at:

Hartman Stickley Winners Recital, Sunday March 11, 2012

Announcement is made of the seventeenth annual Hartman Stickley Memorial Piano Competition Winners Recital, which will be held on Sunday March 11, 2012 in the Annenberg Auditorium, Snite Museum, University of Notre Dame at 2:30 pm.
The competition itself will be held on March 2nd & 3rd at the Mishawaka Penn Harris Library and is open to pre-college students, ages 5 – 18. The four winners in each of four divisions who will be performing in the Winners Recital on March 11 will each win cash prizes: $150 for ages 15-18, $100 for ages 12-14, $75 for ages 9-11 and $50 for ages 5-8. Contestants who receive honorable mention will win cash prizes as well. All awards will be dispersed following the winner’s performances on Sunday, March 11.
The competition, which is sponsored by the South Bend Area Music Teachers Association, is open to piano students of teachers residing in Berrien, Cass, and St. Joseph counties, Michigan; and Elkhart, Kosciusko, LaPorte, Marshall, St. Joseph, and Starke counties, Indiana. Prize money is made available through the Elnora Hartman Stickley Scholarship Fund. POSTMARKED ENTRY DEADLINE IS JANUARY 13TH, AND APPLICATIONS ARE AVAILABLE AT SHIRK’S PIANO IN MISHAWAKA. Judges will be Dr. Svetlana Belsky from The University of Chicago, Dr. Robert Palmer from Ball State University, and Dr. Soyeon Park from Northwestern University.
For further information, please contact the competition chair, Melissa Luan,
at (574) 993-9020 or e-mail ( You may also visit the South Bend Area Music Teacher Association’s website: